The End of the Road

Future Hall of Famer Peyton Manning #18 of the Denver Broncos gazes out over the Coliseum during a Raider loss in 2012.

At the night game in 2012 the whole stadium was silent as Manning kneeled for the last few downs to end the game. All around me dejected Raider fans were silent and sullen watching the end.

I briskly walked to the front of the Black Hole and SCREAMED my lungs out “DENNIS FUCKING ALLEN! YEAH YOU MOTHERFUCKER! THIS IS NOT RAIDER FOOTBALL! GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER!”

Even the security guards looked away as I bellowed at the field. All our guys heard me, even the broncos could hear me. And I even made eye contact with Coach Allen.

“DON’T WASTE YOUR ONLY OPPORTUNITY! THIS IS YOUR CHANCE! LEAD THESE MEN! WE ARE RAIDERS!” I yelled at him again and again, ranting and raving, filled with RAGE as we surrendered to the hated donkeys.

“THIS IS NOT FUCKING RAIDER FOOTBALL!” finally my anger was spent.  As we filed out of the Coliseum I felt bad for ripping on our coach. But at the same time I knew I had to speak for the Nation. To tell this guy we needed him to lead us and that nothing short of victory would satisfy us.

Well. Fast forward two years. Now it’s over. 0-16 is on the horizon. We keep finding ways to lose even with a new coach. No stadium lease for next year. Bankrupt ownership. Greedy NFL bosses are waiting for the moment to strike. To break the Shield, to move us far away with a new owner, new name, new franchise. The End of the Raiders.

For me, I’ll always stay true, and always put on my Raiders hat when summer turns to fall. But I recognize that the sun has set and darkness has fallen. And a part of me will die when our team does. RIP.

About theoaklandraiders

Oakland Raiders fan since mid 2009, when I noticed the Raiders on TV during a visit to my wife's family in Ohio. By the end of the game versus the Bengals I had become a fanatical fan and haven't missed a game since... View all posts by theoaklandraiders

Leave a Reply

