In 2011 Terrelle Pryor received a call from Al Davis

2013_Pryor_TerrelleOn Aug. 17, 2011, following the third round of the NFL Supplemental Draft, Terrelle Pryor received a call from Raiders iconic owner Al Davis. “You’re going to be a star,” Davis said.”It’s going to be a tough couple of years,” Davis, then 82, told Pryor, then 22. “Keep plugging away. You’re going to be successful. I believe in you.”

“I believe in my ability,” Pryor declared. “And I’m going to prove him right. … I’m tired of hearing that I have potential. I want to reach it. … I had to look at myself in the mirror.” The offseason saw the Raiders trade Carson Palmer (“a mentor to this day,” Pryor said). Meanwhile, Pryor was working his butt off.lat-pryor-wre0010823404-20130809

“You could see it on the film,” Pryor said. “Every time I give the ball to Darren, every linebacker scraped over to me. There were holes left for Darren.”I ask him what Davis would’ve said.

“You could see it on the film,” Pryor said. “Every time I give the ball to Darren, every linebacker scraped over to me. There were holes left for Darren.”

I ask him what Davis would’ve said.

“Just win, baby,” Pryor said. “We won.”

-From NFL.com articleHallofFame2011 073

About theoaklandraiders

Oakland Raiders fan since mid 2009, when I noticed the Raiders on TV during a visit to my wife's family in Ohio. By the end of the game versus the Bengals I had become a fanatical fan and haven't missed a game since... View all posts by theoaklandraiders

Leave a Reply

