My First Game(s)

Oakland Raiders VS Miami Dolphins

My first game was at the Oakland Coliseum in late 1998. A cold rainy, crappy day way up high in the nosebleed seats. I can’t remember much about that day, it was deserted in the stands and the Raiders got shut out by Dan Marino’s Dolphins. It was a discouraging and painful day with 6 interceptions by Miami. The Raiders were dismal and I forgot about football for years.

The next time I watched football was at the local movie theater. We got a pitcher of beer and watched the Raiders on the big screen in Super Bowl XXXVII against the Buccaneers. Needless to say, I left that day dismayed, feeling like Oakland could never catch a break, why bother…

Many years went by. Then one day in 2009 visiting the in-laws in Ohio I noticed that Oakland was on TV, against the Bengals. I felt that the Raiders were sure to lose, but against all odds, they won! Suddenly I felt a taste of victory and I decided that I needed to start rooting for the Raiders.

Fast forward to 2010, home game against the hated Chiefs.. Sellout crowd at the Coliseum was electric and the vibe was explosive, unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before. Every KC possession was greeted with roars of rage, demoralizing them and weakening their spirits. The game was neck and neck, a very even match up.  When the Seabass kick won it in overtime, the place almost exploded, Raider chants echoed for ages afterward, it was a victory that filled my brain for weeks.

Winning in the NFL seems almost like a drug and after that game I think I will forever be an addict…

About theoaklandraiders

Oakland Raiders fan since mid 2009, when I noticed the Raiders on TV during a visit to my wife's family in Ohio. By the end of the game versus the Bengals I had become a fanatical fan and haven't missed a game since... View all posts by theoaklandraiders

2 responses to “My First Game(s)

  • Jason

    thanks for your post’s loved them.. i had to share these with my dad a long time Raider fan from the 70’s.. I was born in 77 & have pics of my dad holding me in the early 80’s at games & my first memories of going to games where driving to east la on sat to my tio’s house then getting up & walking to the coliseum for the game.. then walking back to his house get in the car for the 4 hour drive back home doing it many times a year till 1994.. once back home in Oakland my dad was one of the 1st to get his season tickets back, we go no matter how bad things get & now my son is going to games with us along with my brothers kids.. needless to say we still look like thugs (when we dont take the kids we drive in on our bikes) bunch of bald headed goeteed mexicans with tattoos all over us.. thats not a raider nation style its a family style & friends style.. my best friends are the same some are cowboys fans and other 49whiners fans (putos lol) but just wanted to say loved reading your articles and hope to see more GRACIAS mucho gusto!

    • theoaklandraiders

      Thanks for the reply Jason! Great to hear about your family’s connection to the Raiders. It’s amazing how this team brings people together, anyone with a Raiders hat is instantly a friend of mine! I’ll bet your Dad recognized some of the guys in the pictures on my site from the 70’s and 80’s. Those were great times for our team, and it looks like those great times are coming back!!!

Leave a Reply

